It’s the journey, not the destination!

8 11 2010
Friday, 5 November 2010
Johor Bahru, Malaysia

I have been hearing about Johor Bahru (JB) as a shopping destination for a year now aside from two other main urban areas on the peninsular Malaysia – Kuala Lumpur and Penang. On my 3rd time this year to Singapore, I made sure that I will swing by JB. I told my friends about my plan and we headed off to the destination for a one day shopping and observance of Depavali day in Malaysia.

Green Line

We took the green line from City Hall to Jurong East and took the bus to Johor Bahru. The Bus Captain smilingly reminded us with his Singaporean accent “Shopping-leh? Don’t forget your passport!”. We thanked him and went to the bus berth area.

Immigration

Upon reaching the Singapore immigration, my friends and I were wondering how come the people were running getting off the bus! Something must be wrong. We realized that people were rushing to reach Immigration so that they could go back to the bus. We ended up having no seat at all, though we all paid the same fare!

The bus took off and crossed the Singapore-Malaysia borderline bridge. It was another checkpoint and adrenalin rush to the bus.

Jusco, Aeon Bukit Indah Shopping Mall

After 2 hrs and 19 minutes, we reached Jusco. On a normal day, the travel time is only about less than 30 minutes. It was a special day for we observed the Depavali traffic!

We stopped, looked and hoped to buy something around Jusco and the whole Aeon Bukit Indah shopping mall. Good thing that my Black Berry reminded me of the exchange rate (14 MYR=1 PHP). It was time for me to calculate my financial risk!

XES Appeal

There were nothing much to choose inside the mall. I ended up buying a XES Appeal sneakers. The item was on sale. Locals call it “buy one free one” and not “buy one take one”! As expected, the shoes is Made in China.

Going back to SG

The whole shopping experience was saved by our late 4pm lunch deep-fried fish steak with sweet and sour sauce at Soul Thai restaurant. And since there was no traffic on our way back to SG from MY, we reached Jurong East in less than 1 hr.

On this trip, I learned that going to JB is not just for shopping. JB from SG is a place where one could test their patience. “Calm down, calm down” maybe a good chant for a warm welcome not only to the place, but also to the adventure in greeting Depavali! Maybe a different learnings from Causeway-Woodlands connection? h

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

